Back to Results

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Quartets in D major
  • Work information

    Scoring summary: vl (2), vla, vlc
    Genre: Quartets (inst.)
    Catalog of works: KV 499
  • Source description

    Title on source: N. 37. Quartetto. [...] von Mozart und seiner Handschrift
    • score: 14f.
      Autograph manuscript: 1760-1790; 32 x 24 cm
  • Incipits

    1.1.1 vl 1, c/ Allegretto:; DIncipit Nr. 1.1.1
    1.2.1 vl 1, 3/4 Menuetto; DIncipit Nr. 1.2.1
    1.3.1 vl 1, 3/4 Trio; dIncipit Nr. 1.3.1
    1.4.1 vl 1, 3/4 Adagio; GIncipit Nr. 1.4.1
    1.5.1 vl 1, 2/4 ; DIncipit Nr. 1.5.1
  • Further notes

    Scoring: vl (2), vla, vlc
    Notes: [S.l.], [s.n.], 1786
    The 'Hoffmeister' quartet
    The score does not include many compositional changes or revisions. Replete with expression marks
    Allegretto-Adagio-Menuetto. Allegretto-Trio-Molto All.
    Entered in Mozart's 'Verzeichnüss' under the date 19 August, 1786
    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; his widow, Constanze who sold this and other collections to the Offenbach am Main publisher, Johann Anton André in 1799; acquired after 1810 by Johann Andreas Stumpff, and then bought, following his death, by Charles H. Chichele Plowden; bequeathed by his daughter, Harriet Chichele Plowden, to the British Museum in 1907
    Comment on scoring: strings 11110
    Bibliographic reference: BLMF 5 
  • Provenance

    Former owner: André, Johann Anton; Mozart, Constanze; Plowden, Charles Hood Chichele; Plowden, Harriet Chichele; Stumpff, Johann Andreas
Library (siglum) shelfmark: GB-Lbl  Add. 37764
Send a comment about this record RISM ID no.: 806338435
Show MarcXML Show RDF/XML